Rosea molt

Last night at around 1:40 am, as usual, I looked at each of my T’s enclosures. I saw that my rosea (Gwen) was sideways, leaning on the wall. I came back a few minutes later and saw that she was on her back. I was so excited that she was finally molting. I went to bed in the other room. A few minutes later, I said to myself I had to watch her molt. So I turned the a/c off and went back to the ‘tarantula room’. I put the enclosure on the table. I brought the computer chair that was to be disposed of if I didn’t use it. I then positioned the chair in the room in front of the chair that I had just put in, so that I had somewhere to rest my feet as I watched Gwen molt. I turned on the lamp on the floor, after placing the shade on. To darken the room a bit, I put a pillowcase on the shade. I sat there, looking closely at her, still upside down, not having moved for quite a while. I found myself dozing off for a few minutes then waking up a few times, with the sound of cricket chirps as my lullaby. This happened for a long while. I glanced at the time and saw that it was close to 4 am. I decided that I couldn’t stay awake much longer, so as delicately as possible, I brought Gwen’s enclo to my bedroom. I put her on the table close to my bed. I had 2 forceps, a brush, and a container handy so I can take get the exuv out. I finally got to sleep. At around 8:30 that morning, I glanced at the enclo and found Gwen almost free. I observed her. About an hour later, she was finally free. So I took the exuv and saved it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 Responses to Rosea molt

  1. SidNata says:

    Look how pretty she is!! 🙂

Leave a comment